2016 Award Winner | The Loss of All Lost Things

Amina Gautier

2016 Award Winner | The Loss of All Lost Things

by Nov 22, 2016Book Awards

The Loss of All Lost Things

2016 Award Winner for Contemporary – Literary and Short Fiction

A short story collection that illuminates the beauty that can be found in inconsolable loss. Gautier leads us through terrible reality but leaves us with the promise of hope and redemption. Contest judge, Phong Nguyen had this to say about it: “Literary fiction that grips us and won’t let us go is notoriously rare. To offer us complex emotional experience and riveting narrative momentum, and then to leave the reader in contemplation of its sophisticated themes and subtle weave of objective correlatives… that is the stuff of literary greatness, of art that demands to be read in conversation with the canon…Gautier’s stories have you by the throat, and they surprise you with their mercy.”

Buy at Amazon

Gold Award Winner Contemporary / Literary
FAPA Gold Award

Gold Award 2016 ?|?Contemporary / Literary

Gold Award 2016 ?|?Short Fiction

Silver?Award 2016 |?General Fiction


Amina Gautier

Amina Gautier

Scholar ? Author ? Professor

Amina Gautier?is the author of three award-winning short story collections:?The Loss of All Lost Things, which won the Elixir Press Award in Fiction, Now We Will Be Happy, which won the?Prairie Schooner Book Prize, the USA Best Book Award in African American Fiction?a Florida Authors and Publishers Association Award Gold Medal in Short Fiction, and was Long-listed for The Chautauqua Prize in Fiction, and?At-Risk, which won the?Flannery O?Connor Award for Short Fiction, and received an Eric Hoffer Legacy Award and a First Horizon Award. Gautier has published a record number of short stories. More than eighty-five of her short stories have been published and her fiction appears in?African American?Review,?African Voices,?Agni, Antioch Review, B&A: New Fiction, Cicada, Chattahoochee Review, Colorado Review, Crab Orchard Review, Crazyhorse, Glimmer Train, Iconoclast, Iowa Review, Kenyon Review, Nimrod, North American Review, Notre Dame Review, Opium.com, Pindeldyboz, Pleiades, Prairie Schooner, Quarter After Eight, Red Rock Review, River Styx, Salt Hill, Shenandoah, Southeast Review, Southern Review, Southwest Review, Storyquarterly, Studio Magazine, Sycamore Review, Timber Creek Review, Today?s Black Woman, Torch,?and?Yemassee?among other places. Gautier?s work has been extensively reprinted, appearing in?All About Skin! Women Writers of Color, Best African American Fiction 2009, Best African American Fiction 2010, Discoveries: New Writing from The Iowa Review, New Stories from the South: The Year?s Best, 2008, The Notre Dame Review: The First Ten Years, The Sincerest Form of Flattery: Contemporary Women Writers on Forerunners in Fiction,?25 Provocative Women Writers?and?Voices.?

Gautier has been the recipient of the Crazyhorse Prize, the Danahy Fiction Prize, the Jack Dyer Prize, the William Richey Prize, the Schlafly Microfiction Award, and the Lamar York Prize in Fiction. She has also received grants from the Illinois Arts Council and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. Her fiction has been supported with fellowships and scholarships from?American Antiquarian Society,?The Besty Hotel, Breadloaf Writer?s Conference,?Callaloo Writer?s Workshop; Hawthornden International Retreat for Writers;?Hurston/Wright Foundation Writer?s Workshop,?Kimbilio,?Kimmel Harding Nelson Center,?Key West Literary Seminars;?MacDowell Colony;?Prairie Center of the Arts;?Ragdale Foundation, Sewanee Writer?s Conference,?Ucross Foundation;?Vermont Studio Center?and?Writers in the Heartland.

In Publishing? In Florida?

The Florida Authors and Publishers Association is an organization for authors, publishers, independent publishers, illustrators, editors, printers, and other professionals involved in the publishing industry.

You May Also Like…

FAPACon 2022 Keynote Speaker – Craig Pittman

FAPACon 2022 Keynote Speaker – Craig Pittman

Craig Pittman is a native Floridian, an author, a podcaster and an award-winning environmental reporter who will deliver our Keynote on July 30. Born in Pensacola, he graduated from Troy State University in Alabama, where his muckraking work for the student paper...

The 2021 FAPA President’s Book Award recipients.

The 2021 FAPA President’s Book Award recipients.

FAPA President's Book Awards For 2021 Recognizing book publishing excellence and creativity in design, content, and production. 2021 Book Awards Winners Congratulations to the 2021 Florida Authors and Publishers Association Founder's Book Award recipients. Our thanks,...


Submit a Comment

Pin It on Pinterest

Your Cart