FAPA President's Book Awards

Recognizing book publishing excellence and creativity in design, content, and production

2019 Medalists Announced

The Board of Directors of the Florida Authors and Publishers Association are pleased to announce the the 2019 FAPA President’s Books Awards medalists.

Each year, the FAPA President?s Book Awards program recognizes book publishing excellence and creativity in design, content, and production for North American authors and publishers. Librarians, book industry professionals, and educators from Florida and other states judge content, theme, layout, and cover design elements.

For 2019, FAPA awarded gold, silver, and bronze medals in twenty-five categories. the medalists were announced at at the annual FAPA President?s Book Awards Banquet which was held in Orlando on Saturday, August 3, 2019.

2019 Submission Guidelines

  • Author or publisher must reside in North America.
  • Books must be published between May 2018?and April 2019.
  • Books/eBooks must have a valid?ISBN number and include?the year published within the book.
  • eBooks may have an ASIN in lieu of ISBN.
  • FAPA membership is not required for entry.
  • Previous award-winning titles of FAPA President?s Book Awards may not be re-entered.
  • FAPA board members are able to enter books in the awards competition.

2019 Submissions and Judging

  • Medals will be awarded in the 25 categories listed below.
  • Submission Fee is $95.00 per title/category for FAPA members and non-members.
  • Titles submitted?before January 16,?2019?are eligible?for an ?early bird? submission fee of $75.00 per category.
  • All entries in each category will be considered by three judges.
  • Librarians,?book industry professionals, and educators from Florida and multiple other states will judge content, theme, layout, and cover design elements.
  • Books are submitted digitally. At the time of your submission, you will need to upload a complete PDF or ePub file of your book and a high-quality digital image of your cover consistent with the listed specifications.

The FAPA Gold Medal Award provided an instantaneous (and continuing) boost to my promotional efforts.?When folks see that One Drop–A Slave!?has?garnered a national award, they know the book stands above countless others they encounter on the market.??The medal draws attention to the physical book and to online advertising and serves as an “entrance key” into various events, book fairs, library and school presentations, historical societies and more.

Eddie Price

2018 Gold Medal for Historical Fiction

2019 Book Awards Categories

01. Adult Fiction ? General

02. Adult Fiction ? Historical

03. Adult Fiction ? Mystery

04. Adult Fiction ? Romance

05. Adult Fiction ? Sci-Fi/Fantasy

06. Adult Fiction ? Horror/Suspense/Thriller

07. Autobiography/Memoir/Biography

08. Business

09. Children?s Picture Book Ages 0-7

10. Children?s Chapter Books Age 7-12

11. Coffee Table Book/Cookbooks/Home & Garden

12. Education

13. Young Adult Fiction and Non-fiction

14. How-to, Self-help/Inspirational

15. Heath/Fitness/Sports/Recreation

16. Humor

17. Nonfiction ? Adult

18. Nonfiction ? Child

19. Poetry

20. Political/Current events

21. Reference

22. Religion/Spirituality

23. Cover Design ? Juvenile

24. Cover Design ? Young Adult

25. Cover Design ? Adult

Previous Medal Winners

… a juried book award lends a certain prestige and legitimacy to a title. Given a choice between a best-seller campaign and a book award, I’d choose the award any day!”

Tara Alemany

FAPA 2015 How to / Self-Help Winner, The Plan that Launched a Thousand Books

“Entering the FAPA President’s Book Award was one of the best things I could have done for my book.?I had no idea when I entered the?contest, the honor that would come with winning. I even wore my medals home on the plane.”

Nancy Sprowell Geise

FAPA 2016 Autobiography/Memoir and Biography Winner, Auschwitz #34207 - The Joe Rubinstein Story

“Since receiving a gold medal in the 2017 FAPA Awards for Fifo Musical Animals ABC, I have been approached by both an agent and a traditional publisher.”

Hayley Rose

2017 Gold Medalist, Fifo Musical Animals ABC

I’m so proud that?A Beautiful Morning?won a gold medal in the FAPA 2018 President’s Awards. This is my first book; for it to have been selected for such a prestigious honor is thrilling and a wonderful reward for all of my hard work.



Ashley Ellington Brown

2018 Gold Medal for How-To/Self Help

See What Other Award Winners Have Said